Gardening is Fun

I love to garden.  I am not very good at it, but it is really great when you put something in the ground and it grows grows grows!  I have been doing it for 5 years now since I was like 6 years old, and sometimes the plants come out really good.  My mom always helps me though.  She likes to use the food to eat because she says that it is a lot better than the food that is bought at the store.  I like it too, it’s healthy and delicious.

My mom picks the things we use, and she always picks scotts fertilizer for the vegetables.  I heard something at school that scotts fertilizer was terrible so I decided to check it out for myself.  I read a bunch of stuff and I couldn’t believe all the things that are going on about fertilizers and genetically modified organisms and all this other stuff.  I asked the teacher at school and apparently this company monsanto had done some terrible things to farmers.

they made there own seeds which make it so the poisons from the week killer they make doesn’t hurt them, and that would sound great, but they made it so that you can only use their seeds.  They have a patent on the seeds and you can’t collect the seeds when you are growing the crop, and then you have to buy them every year instead of being able to collect the seeds from the plant.

But that’s not the worst thing about it, the worst thing about it is that if you grow your own plants close to someone else that is growing monsanto, then the crops can get pollinated by the wind and the company can sue you because there plants got into your plants somehow.  I don’t even really understand it, I want to ask my dad about it when he comes home.

I found out about fertilizer a little bit more too.  I went to this site I found on bing called http://fertilizernumbers.net and it tells about how the fertilizer numbers on the package work.  I still don’t entirely understand it, but I want to read more about it on the internet or at school.

That’s enough for now, I will try to write more about it if I find out.

Leave a Reply

